Haydn Sunrise Quartet

By October 25, 2016 Uncategorized No Comments

img_0100Haydn’s String Quartet Op. 76 No. 4 was composed in 1796/1797 as one of six string quartets which were dedicated to the Hungarian Count Joseph Georg von Erdody. Published in 1799, these six quartets were the last set Haydn  composed, and are often considered to be Haydn’s greatest. No. 4, written in four movements, is often called “Sunrise” because of the ascending theme in the beginning. These quartets were distinct in the fact that they did not conform as strictly to sonata form, and there is clear thematic continuity through the pieces. “Sunrise” demonstrates this with its frequent changes in character and mood and constant reference to the main theme, whether it be an explicit reference or a derived melody.

Buy Tickets
Symphony Nova depends on generous contributions from people like you. Become a Supporter

Sign up for Symphony Nova News

* = required field