Beethoven Serioso Quartet

By October 25, 2016 Uncategorized No Comments

img_0101Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, also known as “Serioso”, was composed in 1810, which is thought to be the “middle period” of his career, between his early and late works. This piece is unique in not only its compactness, but also in the extreme changes in harmonic structure and mood from movement to movement. Beethoven experiments with ideas from both the classical and romantic periods.
Although it is respected now for its experimentation and uniqueness, Beethoven was not so sure it would be so easily accepted in 1810, and he wrote in a letter that it was “…written for a small circle of connoisseurs and is never to be performed in public”. The piece then premiered in 1814, but was not printed until 1816.

Buy Tickets
Symphony Nova depends on generous contributions from people like you. Become a Supporter

Sign up for Symphony Nova News

* = required field